A Typical Week in Teaching

20160118_145413

Leave the Class for one minute and there’s poo everywhere. Poo shoes!

One of the questions I asked for one of my classes on their monthly Speaking Test. They are one of my favorite classes. This kind of shows how funny and weird they are.

 

The question is: What do you like about your best friend?

Student 1: “She is very high nose.” 

She thought this was a completely satisfactory answer so I gave her 3/5 points.

Student 2: “She has very straight, very black hair.”

Better grammar. And who am I to quibble on the importance of straight hair in friends? 4/5

Student 3: “She is very kind to me.”

Perfect. 5/5

Student 4: “He is very smart.”

This doesn’t seem funny but the look he gave me was like “You know what’s up.” 5/5 and he wasn’t done.

The next question: What is an important quality in a friend?

Student 4: “Money. I think money.”  (His look: “You still know what’s up.”



In another class with lower level students, they learned about twins. I asked them if they knew the word for three brothers/sisters born at the same time.
One girl, Marsha, who is preternaturally smart, shot her hand into the air.
“Trio,” Marsha said confidently.
“No,” I said. “But that’s very close. In fact, the word starts with tri.” I said, writing TRI on the board.
All the kids raised their hands simultaneously.

“Trins,” they all said.

Me: “Oh. That’s actually better than what we use. Good job class.”

 

Leave a Reply

