Everest Base Camp – Day 6, Namche Bazaar to Tengboche

Leaving Namche

Leaving Namche

Prayer Flags in the Wind

Prayer Flags in the Wind

More weird-ass dreams last night.  The ones I remember the clearest I was Strider, played by Harrison Ford naturally and I had been from my kingdom for a long time.  In my absence, the once mighty empire of Gondor had shrunk down to one single 7-11.  I returned, armed with only a magical crossbow.  However, when stuff was going down, I got lost in a Turkish embassy looking for a bathroom.  In the end, my rival (another 7-11 owner) showed up and called the NYPD on me.  I started sniping them with my crossbow and a full-on battle was happening when I woke up.

Morning Mountain Views

Morning Mountain Views

Himalayan Trails

Himalayan Trails

We set out none too early–short day!  Ashraf and Mads grabbed sandwiches from the bakery and I stocked up on coconut cookies.  The rest day had done wonders and the walk felt quite easy.  The first two hours were perfect–just little ups and downs, going around bends to see more and more mountains (including the omnipresent Ama Dablam and for the first time, good views of Everest.)  Lots of yak trains, and we’re talking the fully furry, horned beasts at this point–no half yaks here!

Yak Attack

Yak Attack

All good things must come to end, and then there was a steep descent followed by over 2 hours of climbing.  I got a bit lost and sat down for a while but finally found the way.  By the time we reached Tengboche, the typical afternoon clouds had socked us in.  We found a great hostel, where Mads made friends with another Dane.  And then I climbed up another 150 meters with Jamie, passing a group of monks playing volleyball in the snow.

Monks playing vball

Monks playing vball

The walk was great! Misty and snowy and at 4000 meters I was getting out-of-breath.  Came back and played some Koala and snowtionary, listened to an amazing group of monks chanting and blowing horns.  Horses and dogs ran through the village while yaks patiently loitered on the edge.  Great fun.  And the guesthouse was cool–free “goodbye tea” when we left, free hot water for our Nalgenes at night, and before dinner we had warm towels to clean our face.

Tengboche

Tengboche

Day 6

From / To: Namche Bazaar to Tengboche
Elevation: 3876 meters
Lodge: Trekker’s Lodge
Budget: 1010 rupees

Leave a Reply

