Groceries in Goa

Hanging out in one place – especially a teeny tiny one like Palolem – for over a month means that my blogging material is rather limited. Drawing all day, cooking at home, and avoiding most human interaction – while super refreshing and kind of amazing – just doesn’t make for exciting reading. So this blog is devoted to the one place I do actually deem worth of leaving the house for: the grocery store!

F yeah, veggies.

F yeah, veggies.

Yep, that’s right,  this blog is basically just a typed out version of my grocery list. And yes, I realize that some people* might not be quite as excited by groceries as I am, but…. Well, there isn’t really a but. Deal with it, dudes. At least I added pictures — that counts for something, right?

Palolem is noticeably lacking in grocery stores, so a couple of mornings a week, I bike to the nearest ‘big city’, Canacona, head to the one supermarket there, and fill my bike basket with groceries for around 300RS/$5.50.

Dried stuff aisle! Pulses galore.

Dried stuff aisle! Pulses galore.

Here’s what regularly finds its way into my basket:

Oats: $1.50/500g

Seriously, Korea is the only place in the world where oats are not cheap and readily available. For shame, Korea.

Seriously, Korea is the only place in the world where oats are not cheap and readily available. For shame, Korea.

Chickpeas: 60c/500g
Lentils: 50c/500g
Capsicum (bell peppers to you ‘Murrkans): 10c each

Happiness is a bench full of veggies!

Happiness is a bench full of veggies!

Tomatoes: 60c/kg
Macaroni: 30c/250g
Basmati rice: $1.20/kg
Nestle dried fruit dark chocolate: 50c/teeny weeny bar
Sabji Masala spice mix (I put this shizz in everything): 50c/50g

An Indian essential -- masala!

An Indian essential — masala!

Chilli sauce: 80c/200ml bottle

I've been here 5 weeks, and gone through 5 bottles of this shizz.

I’ve been here 5 weeks, and gone through 5 bottles of this shizz.

Maggi vegetable stock packets: 3c/wee cube
Club soda: 50c/1.25l
Instant coffee: 20c/10g pack

I know, I know, instant coffee is shite. It's not super easy to find a french press here, okay?

I know, I know, instant coffee is shite. It’s not super easy to find a french press here, okay?

Put all (well, not all) these awesome ingredients together, and what do you get?

...This!

…This!

*Or all people, with the possible exceptions of Ahimsa and my big sister.

5 responses to “Groceries in Goa

  1. I think you have an appreciation for grocery shopping when you live in a country with aisles and aisles of ramen noodles. So I second the excitement for grocery shopping

  2. Cleo Collette

    Looks good to me!!

  3. Pingback: Yeti Budgets: Goa | Are We There Yeti?

Leave a Reply

