Yeti Drinks: Soft Drinks of Malaysia

Though we are both pretty good at remaining on a budget for our travels, we both (but me, Ahi, especially) spend too much on soft drinks.  For Rach, it’s pretty much always a Coke Zero.  Or, if there are no Coke Zeros, she mixes it up and goes for a Coke Light.

I, on the other hand, am often blinded by the novelty factor.  Give me long enough and I’ll try every generic sprite and bad cola knockoff.  But when I find something else, it can be really exciting.

Here are some of the drinks I found in Malaysia, from worst to best.

Vegemite with sugar and carbonation.  0/10

Vegemite with sugar and carbonation. One of the worst things I’ve ever had. 0/10

Like soymilk, with melon added.  4/10

Like soymilk, with melon added. 4/10

A sarsaparilla-like drink 5/10

A sarsaparilla-like drink 5/10

Tastes a little like Mtn Dew. 5/10

Tastes a little like Mtn Dew. 5/10

Sweet and syrupy.  5/10

Sweet and syrupy. 5/10

Malaysia's National Drink: like grapefruit isotonic

Malaysia’s National Drink: like grapefruit isotonic 5/10

A Coke-like product.  6/10

A Coke-like product. 6/10

Tasty and chunky 7/10

Tasty and chunky 7/10

A bit syrupy, but nice!  6/10

A bit syrupy, but nice! 6/10

Both great.  9/10 = 7/10

Chocolate and cappuccino soymilk. Both great. 9/10 = 7/10

So good I'm mad that I'm not drinking it right now 10/10

Fresh strawberry juice. So good I’m mad that I’m not drinking it right now 10/10

2 responses to “Yeti Drinks: Soft Drinks of Malaysia

  1. Strawberry juice? Like, they juiced each strawberry, or more like blended it up in a blender? Either way, color me intrigued.

  2. Pingback: Yeti Drinks: Soft Drinks of Myanmar | Are We There Yeti?

Leave a Reply

