Yeti Listens: On the Road to Find Out

You’d have to look pretty hard to find a musician we here at Yeti love more than Cat Stevens. Now, he had some atrocious songs, especially early in his career, but when he was on he was fucking on.

You could choose any one of a couple dozen of his songs for your favorite, but in terms of travel tunes I think there is one that stands out. Beyond that, in my personal ranking, it is on a very short list of the most beautiful songs I’ve heard.

He famously found his destination in Islam. But the song works better as a broader metaphor.

Well I left my happy home to see what I could find out
I left my folk and friends with the aim to clear my mind out
Well I hit the rowdy road and many kinds I met there
Many stories told me of the way to get there

And here is a live recording from 1971.

Leave a Reply

